Board of Directors

Michelle Kelly – President,  mkelly@bluevalleyk12.org

Cammie Braden – President Elect, cbraden@keystonelearning.org

Jacki Himpel – Past President, jacki.himpel@kckps.org

Rebecca Stewart – Vice President, rjstewart@olatheschools.org

Kicia Wagner – Secretary, kicia.wagner@lvpioneers.org

Leslie Sissel – Treasurer, lsissel@usd394.com

Lori Portelli – NC Regional Director, lportelli@abileneschools.org 

Tammy Jilka – NC Regional Director, tjilka@usd240.org

Jennifer Bruns – NE Regional Director, brunsj@turnerusd202.org

Jennifer Whitney – NE Regional Director, jawhitney@olatheschools.org

Brittany Denson – SC Regional Director,  brittany.denson@usd373.org

Leslie Ewy – SE Regional Director, ewyl@cvilleschools.com

Nis Wilbur – State Leader and Member at Large, nwilbur@ksde.org

Staff

Callie Peace – Executive Director, cpeace@kpata.org

Callie has been with Parents as Teachers for 20 years. First as a parent, then as a parent educator, and currently as the Executive Director of  Kansas Parents as Teachers Association.  She holds a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Family Life and Community Service from Kansas State University. Callie lives in Lawrence, Kansas with her daughters, Emily, Rudy, and Clare. 

Becky Peters – Director of Development, Bright Futures Program Director, bpeters@kpata.org

Becky is beginning her second year as Program Director for KPATA’s Bright Futures Program. She also works as the PAT Coordinator for the Basehor-Linwood School District and as a development consultant. Becky has been involved in PAT as an enrolled family, parent educator and coordinator! Throughout her career she has worked with schools, non-profits, and churches. She is passionate about creating programs and systems that support families and children.

Hilary Koehn – Bright Futures Program Quality Implementation Director, hkoehn@kpata.org

Hilary is an early childhood professional who believes strongly in providing high-quality, intentional support to early childhood staff, students, and families in Kansas. In her former role as Early Childhood Lead for Wichita Public Schools, she provided leadership in program development and implementation of early childhood programs, especially Parents as Teachers and At-Risk PreK. Hilary is currently working for Kansas Parents as Teachers Association as the Quality Implementation Director and has been with  PAT for over 12 years.  She also works with El Dorado PAT and is an early childhood consultant.

Julie Youngers – Bright Futures Program Administrative Assistant, jyoungers@kpata.org

Julie Youngers is a recent psychology graduate of the University of Missouri with a background in infant development research. In her free time, Julie can be found reading, dancing, traveling, or refining her chocolate chip cookie recipe. Julie is excited to join the KPATA Bright Futures team as an administrative assistant and looks forward to serving young children and their families in Kansas!

Governance

KPATA is composed of members from across the state of Kansas. KPATA, directed by the executive board and its board of directors, provides leadership, programs, support, and resources to its members. Board members are the liaison between the members and the executive board helping each to function effectively and to support and sustain the other. In 2018, a strategic plan was created to take the organization forward.

Amended Bylaws 4-17-2020

Strategic Plan

Flowchart showing the relationship between KPATA and KSDE

Board Meetings

Minutes from the 12 most recent board meetings are posted here. For archived minutes, please contact Callie Peace, Executive Director (cpeace@kpata.org).

November 2019

December 2019

January 2020

February 2020

March 2020

April 2020

April 2020 Special

May 2020

June 2020

July 2020

August 2020

September 2020